Friday, March 29, 2013

Dashanami Sampradaya

Dashanami Sampradaya (IAST Daśanāmi Saṃpradāya "Tradition of Ten Names") is a Hindu monastic tradition of Ekadandi sannyasins (wandering renunciates carrying a single staff)[1][2][3] generally associated with the Advaita Vedanta tradition. They are distinct in their practices from the Saiva Tridandi sannyāsins or "trident renunciates" and from Vaisnava sannyāsins[4][note 1][note 2]
In the 8th century a section of the Ekadandis were organized by Adi Shankara in four maṭhas. However, the association of the Dasanāmis with the Sankara maṭhas remained nominal.[web 1] Any Hindu, irrespective of class, caste, age or gender can seek sannyāsa as an Ekadandi monk under the Dasanāmi tradition.

No comments:

Post a Comment