Friday, March 29, 2013

Hinduism and Culture in Nepal

Dashnami Sanyasi

Dashnami are the hindu racial group in Nepal. Das or Dash being 10 in Nepali, dashnami includes people having 10 last names (Surnames/family names).

According to hindu mythology it is a Hindu monastic tradition of Ekadandi sannyasins generally associated with the Advaita Vedanta tradition. They are distinct in their practices from the Saiva sanyasi (Tridandi) and from Vaisnav sanyasi. TheTridandi sanyasi continue to wear Janai (the sacred thread  accross the shoulder) after renunciation, while Ekadandi sanyasi do not. Any Hindu, irrespective of class, caste, age or gender can seek sanyas as an Ekadandi monk under the Dasnami tradition.

Sri Adi Shankara of India (around 789 AD) organized a part of the Ekadandi monks under an umbrella grouping of ten names to provide an organized base for the growth of Hinduism. Later on these 10 groups became 10 surnames. But many of these branch are different and not in control of Shankara Math today. Some of the branch started their own tradition and beliefs during centuries.

Dasnamis in Nepal are :-

Giri  (Peak of mountain)

Puri (A town)
Bharathi (the Goddess of speech)
Ban or Van (the forest)
Tirtha (A shrine or pilgrimage)
Parvat (a mountain)
Sagar (the ocean)
Saraswati (the Goddess of learning)
Aashram (Hermitage)
Aranya (forest) 

No comments:

Post a Comment